Ronald Hurwitz’s The Gryphons of Paris on sale for a limited time

Ronald Hurwitz emailed to let me know that his book, The Gryphons of Paris: A Reliquary of Photographs and Vignettes is on sale for a limited time. For readers of The Book Blog, Ronald is offering a 10% discount ($25 off) to the first ten people who purchase the book, and the offer will be valid until June 1st. Just mention The Book Blog when you’re making your order.

In the only book ever made by Lumiere Press for an outside publisher, convert violist and photograper Hurwitz has fashioned a chronicle of Paris in the closing years of the twentieth century with words and pictures. It is an intimate vision in which cafes and sidestreets, wine merchants and peddlers form the backdrop and cast of characters in a lyrical tale of how Paris lives and how Hurwitz has lived there.

The book is hand bound, typeset in lead, and limited to an edition of two hundred copies, a few of which are still available. It contains thirty-three photographs of Paris taken between 1983 and 2001 as well as vignettes from the times he spent there. The volume has been quarter bound in black Canapetta book cloth with French marble paper over boards. The book measures 6 x 9 inches; 64 pages. Limited to an edition of 200, signed by the artist.

This volume has been the recipient of several prestigious awards, was acquired by the Harvard Library, George Eastman House Museum of Photography, The Chicago Art Institute, and many other important institutions.

You Might Also Like